R&D tax relief

R&D tax advisers, checked and sourced

17 UK firms that prepare R&D tax relief claims, checked against Companies House, their own published terms, and (where a public record exists) HMRC's AML supervision register. 16 fully checked, 1 still queued because a core fact could not be verified. Every entry links to where we found it.

Founded by Adam Parker No obligation to talk it through

Cite this dataset: Parker, A. (2026). UK R&D Tax Relief Claim Adviser Register: Vetted and Queued Firms Index. Zenodo. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22753343

Where we stand

We list every firm we found, not just ones we might work with

Established Finance doesn't currently have a referral or commercial relationship with any firm on this page. If that changes, we'll say so here, by name, rather than let a listing quietly imply an endorsement it doesn't have. Being on this register isn't a recommendation. It's a record of what's actually published and what isn't.

The check that surprised us: a lot of coverage of the Finance Act 2026, Part 7 adviser registration regime (Schedule 20, legislation.gov.uk) assumes it will produce a public lookup, so anyone can check a firm's registration status before instructing them. It doesn't. Registration runs through each firm's internal HMRC Agent Services Account, and neither HMRC's guidance nor its published rollout materials describe any public-facing directory. So nowhere on this page do we mark a firm "registered" or "unregistered" under that specific regime, because that status genuinely cannot be checked from outside HMRC, by us or by you. A separate, older register does exist for anti-money-laundering supervision, and we checked every firm below against it where a match was findable. That's what the AML column shows, not Schedule 20 registration.

The register

All 17 firms at a glance

Firm Type Fee model AML supervisor Introducer route
EmpowerRD Specialist R&D boutique (technology-platform-driven) Published Confirmed, HMRC Open, no accountant gate
Easy R&D Contingency-fee claim firm (referral-network-driven go-to-market) Not published Not found Open, no accountant gate
Alexander Clifford Contingency-fee R&D claim specialist ('no win, no fee'), dedicated exclusively to R&D claims Published Confirmed, HMRC Open, no accountant gate
Leyton UK Specialist innovation-funding/tax-incentive consultancy (self-described largest independently-owned tax incentive consultancy in the UK); not an accountancy firm Not published Not found Open, no accountant gate
Ayming UK Multinational innovation-funding/tax-incentive consultancy (Ayming group); not a pure accountancy firm Not published Not found Named/formal partners only
Kene Partners Specialist R&D funding boutique; certified B Corporation; positions itself as not a volume claims firm Model disclosed, rate not Not found None found
ForrestBrown Specialist R&D boutique (chartered-adviser-led), not a general accountancy practice with an R&D bolt-on Model disclosed, rate not Not found Accountant-facing only
RIFT R&D Tax Credits Contingency-fee claim-model firm, part of The RIFT Group (also runs a personal tax-refund business); not a chartered specialist boutique or accountancy firm Not published Not found Exists, terms unclear
Ryan Innovation Funding (formerly Catax) Division of a large global tax-services multinational (Ryan, LLC, US-headquartered); no longer a standalone specialist boutique Not published Not found Accountant-facing only
Source Advisors (formerly GovGrant) Specialist R&D boutique (originated as GovGrant), now part of a global tax-incentive consulting group (Source Advisors LLC, US parent) Model disclosed, rate not Not found Accountant-facing only
ABGi UK (formerly Jumpstart) Was a specialist R&D boutique (Jumpstart, Edinburgh-founded); now a division of a large French industrial/engineering group's consulting arm (Groupe SNEF): closer to a corporate innovation-incentive consultancy than an independent boutique Not published Not found Unclear
MPA (Michael Price Associates) Accountancy firm with an R&D tax/grants division (SIC 69201, accounting and auditing), not a pure R&D boutique: founded by an accountant, Michael Price Not published Stated, not independently confirmed Named/formal partners only
RCK Partners Specialist R&D boutique, self-described as 'a leading firm of chartered tax advisers'; also Capital Allowances, Patent Box, Land Remediation Relief, Enquiry Resolution Not published Not found Named/formal partners only
RAndDTaxQueued Specialist R&D boutique operating an 'outsourced R&D department' model for accountants: partners with over 400 accountancy practices, per its own claim Not published Not found Named/formal partners only
Cooden Tax Consulting Specialist R&D boutique (Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex), also Patent Box, Video Games Tax Relief, grant funding support Not published Not found None found
Kreston Reeves Full-service accountancy firm (audit, tax, wealth, advisory) with an R&D tax relief service line: not a pure-play R&D boutique Not published Stated, not independently confirmed Unclear
Rouse Partners Accountancy firm (Beaconsfield-based, Praxity-network member) with an R&D tax specialist team: not a standalone R&D boutique Not published Stated, not independently confirmed None found

Full detail and sources for each firm are below the table. "Not found" means we checked and didn't find it published anywhere, not that it doesn't exist.

Methodology

How this was compiled

Every firm below was checked live against its own website, Companies House, and (where feasible) HMRC's public AML Supervised Business Register on 9 August 2026. Where a detail couldn't be confirmed from a primary source, we say so rather than guess. "Vetted" means we completed this check and are confident in what is and isn't publicly disclosed, including the gaps. "Queued" means a core fact (usually the firm's legal identity) is still unresolved, so treat that entry with more care until it's updated. Being listed here, vetted or queued, is not an endorsement and does not imply an introducer or commercial relationship with Established Finance.

Firms change pricing, ownership and introducer terms without notice. If you find something on this page that's gone stale, tell us and we'll check it.

Full profiles

Firm by firm, with sources

EmpowerRD

Specialist R&D boutique (technology-platform-driven)

HMRC AML supervision independently confirmed on the government register, a fully published fee ladder, and an introducer scheme open to anyone without an application step. One inconsistency: an older marketing article still quotes 5%, while the current pricing page says 6%.

FeeRates published on the live pricing page, checked 9 August 2026. A separate 2024 marketing article (empowerrd.com/empowerrd-5-percent-fees/) still states 'we only charge 5%', which conflicts with the current 6% headline. We've used the pricing page, as the more current source.
Introducer termsReferrer chooses per referral: 10% commission (paid after the first claim is awarded) OR a 10% discount for the referred client (first claim only) OR nothing, plus a flat £100 gift card and £100 charity donation per converted introduction.
Enquiry defenceStated as included as standard for the Tiered/Growth plan ('HMRC enquiry support included as standard'). Not explicitly confirmed for the flat 6% plan.

Source: empowerrd.com

Easy R&D

Formerly: Registered legal name changed from 'Easy R&D Ltd' to 'Easy Tax Solutions Limited' on 8 December 2023; still trades publicly as Easy R&D.

Contingency-fee claim firm (referral-network-driven go-to-market)

Introducer scheme open to anyone, with published referrer terms. We found no AML supervisor named, including on HMRC's public register, and no published client fee rate. The registered company name changed from 'Easy R&D Ltd' to 'Easy Tax Solutions Limited' in December 2023; the trading brand is unchanged.

FeeThe published 20% first claim / 10% recurring and ~£2,000 figures describe what a referrer earns, not what Easy R&D charges its clients. Verified on easyrnd.co.uk/referrals: referrers earn 20% of the Easy R&D fee on a client's first successful claim, 10% on subsequent claims, with average referrer earnings of approximately £2,000 per first successful referral. We couldn't find the fee Easy R&D charges clients published anywhere: there's no dedicated pricing page, and its FAQ page wasn't available when checked.
Introducer terms20% of the Easy R&D fee on a client's first successful claim, 10% on subsequent claims for the same client.
Enquiry defenceNot stated

Source: easyrnd.co.uk

Alexander Clifford

Formerly: Registered as 'Alexander Clifford & Co Ltd' until 18 January 2024, renamed Alexander Clifford Limited.

Contingency-fee R&D claim specialist ('no win, no fee'), dedicated exclusively to R&D claims

Publishes a plain 25% no-win-no-fee client rate, which few firms in this register do. Its own site names no AML supervisor or professional body. HMRC's AML register does list it, under the company name it stopped using in January 2024.

FeeStated plainly on its main service page as of 9 August 2026, framed by the firm as 'lower than the industry average.' No charge if no qualifying claim is identified.
Introducer termsNot published: described only as 'a competitive fee for referring qualifying R&D tax credit clients', rate withheld behind a contact-form conversation.
Enquiry defence'HMRC enquiry support' appears as a nav-menu service and is referenced favourably in a client testimonial, but no explicit statement of whether it's included free, chargeable as an add-on, or automatically covered was found. Ambiguous.

Source: alexanderclifford.co.uk

Leyton UK

Specialist innovation-funding/tax-incentive consultancy (self-described largest independently-owned tax incentive consultancy in the UK); not an accountancy firm

Runs an introducer page (live as of 9 August 2026, at a new URL) open to a broad field, not just accountants. Unlike EmpowerRD or Easy R&D, it publishes no commission terms.

FeeIndividually negotiated by complexity and jurisdiction; no rate published on Leyton's own site. Third-party forum posts mention a 15-27.5% range, but that isn't from Leyton and isn't confirmed, so we haven't used it.
Introducer termsNot disclosed: framed as co-marketing/relationship-based rather than a paid-commission scheme; no self-serve application, contact-only.
Enquiry defenceStated as included as standard, no added fees, per Leyton's own site content.

Source: leyton.com

Ayming UK

Formerly: Formerly Lowendal UK / Lowendal Masai UK / Alma Consulting Group UK; renamed Ayming UK Ltd April 2016.

Multinational innovation-funding/tax-incentive consultancy (Ayming group); not a pure accountancy firm

Part of a multinational group, with a formal introducer structure covering six defined partner categories and no route for individual introducers.

FeeNo percentage or fixed rate found on any page checked.
Introducer termsNot disclosed: contact-only, no application form.
Enquiry defenceStated as included as standard/contractual, with a dedicated enquiry-specialist team. Ayming publicly claims a 3.6% HMRC enquiry rate versus a stated national average of ~20%: this is Ayming's own marketing claim, not independently confirmed against an HMRC-published figure.

Source: ayming.co.uk

Kene Partners

Specialist R&D funding boutique; certified B Corporation; positions itself as not a volume claims firm

No formal introducer scheme: informal accountant and association introductions only, with no dedicated page or commission structure. One of the few firms here to publish that its fee is a percentage of the claim, though not the rate. Its own site doesn't name an AML supervisor.

FeeCharged as a percentage of the claim, agreed before any work takes place; no fixed rate published, priced case-by-case by size, complexity and timeline. Client pays nothing until the benefit is received.
Introducer termsNo programme found
Enquiry defenceExplicitly included in the standard fee, not a separate charge: covers full HMRC enquiry handling including ADR/appeals support.

Source: kene.partners

ForrestBrown

Specialist R&D boutique (chartered-adviser-led), not a general accountancy practice with an R&D bolt-on

Chartered-adviser-led specialist boutique that discloses its fee structure (percentage, fixed or time-and-materials) without a specific rate. We found no published enforcement or controversy history. Its partner programme is aimed at accountants, and its site doesn't name an AML supervisor.

FeeExact quote from their own site: 'Depending on your specific requirements, our fee can be charged as a percentage of the benefit you receive, as a fixed amount or on a time and materials basis.' No specific percentage published, but the fee structure itself is transparently disclosed.
Introducer termsNo published commission structure or eligibility terms found.
Enquiry defenceIncluded as part of the standard service per the fee-model quote above; no separate published enforcement or controversy history found for ForrestBrown itself.

Source: forrestbrown.co.uk

RIFT R&D Tax Credits

Formerly: riftresearch.com now redirects to riftgroup.com.

Contingency-fee claim-model firm, part of The RIFT Group (also runs a personal tax-refund business); not a chartered specialist boutique or accountancy firm

Publishes no fee rate, AML supervisor or professional-body affiliation. The company that historically traded as RIFT Research and Development is in a solvent members' voluntary liquidation as part of a 2024-25 group restructure, with the business continuing under the RIFT Group.

FeeSite content states 'no hidden or upfront fees' and that fees are 'purely contingent on claim success'. No rate published. The FAQ page wasn't available when checked, so this comes from a search result showing that page rather than the page itself.
Introducer termsAn introducer page is listed at riftresearch.com/working/introducers/ but wasn't available when checked, so commission terms aren't confirmed.
Enquiry defenceThird-party and review sources, not RIFT's own published pages, attribute to RIFT figures of fewer than 3% of claims queried and 99.6% of HMRC challenges 'successfully defended'. We couldn't confirm these on RIFT's own site, so treat them as unconfirmed marketing claims.

Worth knowing: The original operating company, RIFT RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT LIMITED (company 08992161), is in members' voluntary liquidation, a solvent wind-up: special resolution passed 5 March 2025, liquidators appointed 20 June 2025. This coincides with the 2024 group restructure under the new holding company. It is a solvent corporate restructuring, not evidence of insolvency or business failure.

Source: riftgroup.com

Ryan Innovation Funding (formerly Catax)

Formerly: Catax: the Catax brand has been fully retired/sunsetted by Ryan LLC. catax.com may still resolve for some legacy content but the current primary brand is Ryan Innovation Funding.

Division of a large global tax-services multinational (Ryan, LLC, US-headquartered); no longer a standalone specialist boutique

Now a division of Ryan, LLC, a US-headquartered global tax-services firm, rather than a standalone brand; the Catax name has been retired. We found no FCA investigation or formal enforcement action against Catax when we searched for one.

FeeNo percentage, fixed, or hybrid statement found on the homepage, about page, or enquiry-service page.
Introducer termsExact quote: 'Once a project with your client is completed, you will receive an agreed referral fee.' No rate/percentage published; includes co-branded marketing materials, a dedicated account manager, and an Introducer Portal.
Enquiry defenceDetailed and published. Exact quotes: comprehensive review of claim documentation and correspondence, a detailed strategic report highlighting areas of weakness, direct communication with HMRC throughout the enquiry, and representation at meetings/hearings. Notably: 'If we can't add any value, we will not prepare the detailed report; however, we will provide you with a document that contains suitable reasons for our decision.' No success-rate or guarantee stated.

Source: innovationfunding.com

Source Advisors (formerly GovGrant)

Formerly: GovGrant: acquired by Source Advisors LLC (Texas) in March 2023, formally rebranded 1 February 2024. govgrant.co.uk now 301-redirects to sourceadvisors.co.uk.

Specialist R&D boutique (originated as GovGrant), now part of a global tax-incentive consulting group (Source Advisors LLC, US parent)

GovGrant has traded as Source Advisors since February 2024. The firm is open about moving away from pure no-win-no-fee pricing, but publishes no fee percentage or AML supervisor. Its partner offer is aimed at accountants rather than individual introducers.

FeeOwn site confirms a contingent/value-based fee is the default philosophy, explicitly defending 'no win no fee' against critics, but states they've moved away from 100% contingent toward requiring engagement/minimum fees. Exact percentage not published. Confirmed detail: 'some of our GovGrant services are fixed fee: usually when we review a previous claim that a client brings with them from another provider. Or when they seek our advice through our HMRC Enquiry service.'
Introducer termsNo commission percentage published.
Enquiry defenceA dedicated fixed-fee 'HMRC Enquiry' service exists: 'our report gives a straightforward opinion and suggests next steps.' No specific SLA, guarantee, or scope-of-cover published.

Source: sourceadvisors.co.uk

ABGi UK (formerly Jumpstart)

Formerly: Jumpstart (Scotland) Limited to Jumpstart (U.K.) Limited (2018) to ABGi-UK Limited (2019, ABGi/Visiativ acquisition) to Visiativ Consulting UK Limited (2023) to ABGi-UK Limited again (7 January 2025, following Visiativ selling the consulting arm to Groupe SNEF). jumpstartuk.co.uk didn't load on three separate attempts (expired TLS certificate).

Was a specialist R&D boutique (Jumpstart, Edinburgh-founded); now a division of a large French industrial/engineering group's consulting arm (Groupe SNEF): closer to a corporate innovation-incentive consultancy than an independent boutique

The Jumpstart brand now trades as ABGi UK, part of Groupe SNEF, after three ownership changes since 2019. The legacy jumpstartuk.co.uk domain didn't load when checked (expired certificate). No fee model or AML supervisor is disclosed.

FeeNot published on either page checked.
Introducer termsNot mentioned on the pages checked.
Enquiry defenceService lines named 'Enquiry Defence' and 'R&D Claim Audit' are both listed, but no specific terms, scope, or guarantee published on the pages fetched.

Source: abgi-uk.com

MPA (Michael Price Associates)

Accountancy firm with an R&D tax/grants division (SIC 69201, accounting and auditing), not a pure R&D boutique: founded by an accountant, Michael Price

Trades under a stable, long-standing brand. It states ACCA AML supervision, which we couldn't confirm from a primary source, and discloses no fee percentage. Companies House shows several similarly named entities at the same address (see below).

FeeNot disclosed on any MPA page checked (homepage, R&D tax credits page, 4-step process page).
Introducer termsOwn-site quote: 'We can also consider additional benefits like commission structures and investment opportunities': commission terms exist but are negotiated per-partner, not published.
Enquiry defenceSite references increased HMRC scrutiny and a '2026 compliance guide', and offers support for businesses 'concerned about compliance or HMRC enquiries', but no specific guarantee, SLA, or defence-cover terms published.

Worth knowing: Companies House lists two further active entities at the same Newport Pagnell address: MPA GROUP LTD (12206944, SIC 82990 general business support, incorporated 2019) and MPA GROUP HOLDINGS LTD (15131153). They appear to be part of the same group, but we couldn't confirm from public sources which entity holds the trading contracts or which is the parent. A separate directory listing for 'The M P A Group Ltd' at a different address (Mercers Manor Barns, Sherington), with the domain thempagroup.co.uk, also appeared; we couldn't confirm whether it's the same group, and that domain didn't load. If the exact contracting entity matters to you, check Companies House directly.

Source: mpa.co.uk

RCK Partners

Formerly: Previously traded as MSK Partners Limited.

Specialist R&D boutique, self-described as 'a leading firm of chartered tax advisers'; also Capital Allowances, Patent Box, Land Remediation Relief, Enquiry Resolution

Chartered-adviser boutique with professional-body ties (CIOT/ATT, ICAEW) and a dedicated enquiry resolution service. Like most firms here, it publishes no fee percentage, so cost can't be compared without asking for a quote.

FeeSite describes an eligibility assessment followed by 'a tailored quotation': implies contingency/bespoke pricing, no rate disclosed anywhere found.
Introducer termsNo public joining criteria or commission rates found.
Enquiry defenceStandalone 'Enquiry Resolution Services' for HMRC enquiries into existing claims: no pricing/terms detail published.

Source: rck.partners

RAndDTax

Queued, not fully vetted

Specialist R&D boutique operating an 'outsourced R&D department' model for accountants: partners with over 400 accountancy practices, per its own claim

Long-running, accountant-facing model with a formal referral scheme. We couldn't find a verifiable legal entity or Companies House number behind the site, which is why this entry is queued rather than vetted.

FeeNot formally published. One client testimonial on-site references 'the fee was based on a % of a successful claim', implying contingency pricing, but no rate is disclosed and this is a testimonial, not a stated policy.
Introducer terms'Every successful referral means you could earn fees': commission rate not published.
Enquiry defenceOffered informally: 'Struggling with an HMRC enquiry? We can help, even if you aren't a client': starting with a free review; no formal terms published.

Worth knowing: No Companies House entity behind randdtax.co.uk could be verified. No company number appears on the site (trading address given as Mulberry House, Holybourne, Alton, Hampshire). A Companies House search for 'RandDTax' and 'R and D Tax' returned several similarly named entities (for example R and D Tax Credits Ltd 07517092 and R and D Tax Specialists Ltd 06926903), none confirmed as the business behind this domain. We'll update this entry once its legal identity is confirmed.

Source: randdtax.co.uk

Cooden Tax Consulting

Specialist R&D boutique (Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex), also Patent Box, Video Games Tax Relief, grant funding support

Long-established small boutique with a broad service list (Patent Box, Video Games Tax Relief, grants), but no published pricing, AML supervisor or professional-body statement.

FeeNo percentage or fixed-fee figure found anywhere on the site.
Introducer termsNo programme found
Enquiry defenceNamed as a service line ('Tax Enquiry Support') but no terms published.

Worth knowing: Companies House also lists a separate, similarly named company, Cooden Tax Consulting Limited (11327395). We haven't established how the two relate. The number we show, 08367248, is the one the firm's own site states.

Source: coodentaxconsulting.co.uk

Kreston Reeves

Full-service accountancy firm (audit, tax, wealth, advisory) with an R&D tax relief service line: not a pure-play R&D boutique

Regulated accountancy firm bound by the Professional Conduct in Relation to Taxation (PCRT) standards, offering R&D as one service line within a full practice. Its R&D-specific pricing and enquiry-defence terms aren't published, so it can't be cost-compared with the specialist firms from its website alone.

FeeNot specified on the pages checked.
Introducer termsNot detailed on the pages checked.
Enquiry defenceNot stated

Worth knowing: The Kreston Reeves group has more than one registered legal entity (Kreston Reeves LLP, Kreston Reeves Audit LLP, Kreston Reeves Private Client LLP). OC328775 is confirmed for the LLP itself; we didn't separately confirm which entity contracts for R&D work.

Source: krestonreeves.com

Rouse Partners

Accountancy firm (Beaconsfield-based, Praxity-network member) with an R&D tax specialist team: not a standalone R&D boutique

ICAEW audit-registered accountancy firm with an R&D tax specialist team, rather than a claims specialist.

Fee'We provide an upfront quotation based on your claim requirements': described as 'competitively priced', but no percentage or fixed figure published.
Introducer termsNo formal programme documented; only anecdotal client testimonials referencing informal introductions.
Enquiry defenceNot stated

Worth knowing: The firm states a '100% success rate' and that it has 'never had a claim turned down by HMRC'. These are self-reported figures we couldn't verify independently.

Source: rousepartners.co.uk

Alternatives and limitations

This register isn't advice on who to instruct

This register covers firms that prepare and file claims. For the mechanics of a claim itself, see R&D claim services. For a like-for-like read on fee structures specifically, see R&D adviser fees compared. And nothing here is advice on which firm to instruct. That depends on your own claim, its size and your appetite for risk, not a table.

Talk it through

Need another perspective?

Describe where things stand in a sentence or two, and we'll tell you whether it's something we can help with. There's no charge for this.

What happens next

  1. A person on our team reads it. A sentence or two is enough to start.
  2. If we can help, we introduce you to a specialist partner we have vetted and tell you who they are.
  3. No charge and no obligation at any point. You decide whether to go further.
Adam Parker

Adam Parker

Founder of Muswell Rose Consulting Ltd, which trades as Established Finance · former Managing Director of Penny, an invoice finance business, with 15+ years across mortgages, commercial finance and fintech lending.

Last updated:

Practical questions

Before you get in touch

What information do I need?

To start, just a description of what’s actually happening in the business. If it progresses, the specialist partner will ask for the usual things: recent accounts, a sense of turnover and trading history, and details of the specific need.